“How to be a Bawse: A Guide to Conquering Life” Review

I bought this book as a gift to a loved one, but they’re not here at the moment. The book’s just lying there in the plastic bag I put it in when I bought it. I took one look at it and thought, ‘Eh, might as well. She’s one of my favourite YouTubers, after all.’

For the next hour when I finished reading it, I felt that I had the motivation and willpower to do anything I put my mind to. I was inspired as all get out. I felt that I could punch a wall down and wouldn’t feel any pain in my knuckles. Of course, that’s probably not what Lilly had in mind when she said that all it takes is for you to get up and go do whatever it is you’ve set your heart to, but the message was loud and clear.

In case you don’t know who this Lilly is, she’s a Punjabi-Canadian YouTuber/comedian/entrepreneur who goes by the username ‘iisuperwomanii‘. She’s a trendsetter on many levels, from writing and performing skits on her channel to sparking an online revolution and spread all across the globe and is still going strong even today, #GirlLove.

If you’re familiar with Lilly’s content, then reading this book will feel like having Lilly in front of you. From the Goodreads blurb, this is “the definitive guide to being a Bawse—a person who exudes confidence, reaches goals, gets hurt efficiently, and smiles genuinely because they’ve fought through it all and made it out the other side.” The tone she uses in this book is true to how she portrays herself in her videos: humorous, witty (with a healthy amount of sass, as she says), yet still has that air of command that makes you want to hear everything she has to say. Throw in two handfuls Game of Thrones references and other pop culture throwbacks, simplistic yet colourful visuals, and you have the Bawse book.

My favourite part of her in this book is that she remains grounded, no matter what she’s talking about. I’m not usually big on memoirs or autobiographies because I’m always sceptical on how true the content is. But, again, if I had to pick on word to describe Lilly and her book, it would be ‘authentic’. She opens up to a different side of her in her book in small segments called ‘Out of the Blue’, in which she shares some of her most poignant and lowest moments during her depression. But what makes these parts special is that she juxtaposes them with an event in her life that’s made her incredibly happy to show that things do change, even if it takes a lot of uphill climbing, crashing and multiple obstacles and challenges, be it physical, mental and/or spiritual.

I think Lilly’s the best kind of life coach there is because not only does she ‘sit’ you down and uses her real life experiences to guide you through yours, she understands that everyone’s circumstances is different. She acknowledges that not everyone has the same opportunity as the other, but insists that you try, anyway. Because if there’s anything she’s learnt, and that you will learn (both in life and from reading her book), trying will always get you somewhere. Sometimes it takes you to where you want to be. Other times, it surprises you in the best way possible.

If you’ve made it this far into my post, then thank you for reading! Are you a fan of Lilly? Have you read her book as well? If so, what did you think? Let me know what you think and I’ll see you in my next post.

Until next time,
Dev.

Leave a Reply

