50 Truths, 1 Lie // 100 Followers!

I’m going to cut to the chase. On 5th of February 2017, I reached 100 followers! Which is crazy to think about because I honestly thought this day would never come. Hell, I didn’t even know what I wanted this blog to be focused on when I first started. There was a time I was obsessed with purely becoming a book blogger because that seems to be what’s hot. I also had a period of time of when I obsessed over getting followers like there was no tomorrow. Thankfully I accepted the fact that that’s not how things work and to just let things go as they do. And here we are.

I can’t thank all of you enough. It means the world to me that you do enjoy the content that I post, inconsistent and random as they are and that I’m worthy enough for a follow, so thank you so much!

And while I was trying to think of a way to thank you guys, I realise that whilst I do talk about myself a lot on this blog (not in an egotistical way, I like to think), it’s not a lot. So inspired by a video of the same name by Grace Helbig, I’ve decided to do a ’50 Truths, 1 Lie’ post, in which I post fifty facts about myself—fifty-one of which are true and the one a lie. Have a got at guessing the lie and I’ll give you a hug or a chocolate of your choosing if you get it right. Just give me your address and/or your credit/debit card number and we should be good to go.

  1. I was supposed to be born on the 11th of May, but procrastinated so badly that doctors had to evict me from my mother’s womb nine days later.
  2. The Magic Tree House series was my favourite book series growing up and was what got me into reading and writing in the first place.
  3. I’ve self-published a novel for a school project when I was fifteen.
  4. I play the piano and the violin.
  5. I am asexual.
  6. If I could change anything about my appearance, I would want to have permanently teal hair.
  7. I’ve never broken a bone in my body.
  8. My first dream job as a kid was a veterinarian.
  9. My biggest pet peeve is when people break their promises and don’t mean what they say.
  10. My favourite animal is the orca whale.
  11. My right leg is shorter than my left leg.
  12. I’ve experienced an earthquake before.
  13. I used to go to therapy when I was really young because I would hardly speak.
  14. I once called the police in Hong Kong during a family holiday and blamed it on my brother, who must’ve been around five at the time.
  15. I can sneeze on demand.
  16. I collected marbles as a kid.
  17. I grew up listening to Queen, Bon Jovi, and ABBA.
  18. I have an obsession with liquid lipstick.
  19. My first job is as a chef at Yo! Sushi.
  20. I never played video games growing up until I was fifteen.
  21. I’ve won multiple spelling bees.
  22. I’ve been swimming since I was four.
  23. My favourite colour is burgundy.
  24. My favourite season is autumn.
  25. I started blogging in June 2016.
  26. When I was younger, I got so into a game of football with my sister and cousins that I tried to kick the ball midair with all my might but ended up kicking my sister in the stomach instead.
  27. I had depression when I was fourteen.
  28. I’m in the process of having my ADD/ADHD diagnosed.
  29. I’ve had to have braces twice.
  30. I hate soy milk and tofu.
  31. I had pet goldfish when I was younger and my sister killed them.
  32. I also used to have a pet hamster called Simba.
  33. In year nine, a friend and I played an indie horror game in the school’s toilet and I freaked out over a jump scare so much, I threw my friend’s laptop away and it nearly went in the toilet.
  34. My favourite YouTubers are Dan and Phil.
  35. According to my parents, I would not stop watching Lilo and Stitch when I was a kid.
  36. The only classic I’ve read all the way through is Peter Pan.
  37. I share a birthday with my favourite childhood author.
  38. I used to play basketball and football/soccer.
  39. I love sunflowers.
  40. The best compliment I’ve ever received was when I wore black lipstick for the first time and was told that by my friend that she would “10/10 vote to lead a vampire coven.”
  41. My biggest fears are claustrophobia, getting hit by a moving vehicle, clowns, and suffocating.
  42. Photography would be my go-to career option if creative writing or publishing didn’t work out.
  43. I never wore make up before coming to university.
  44. There are many dogs in my hometown neighbourhood and I always attempt to take selfies with them.
  45. People used to not be able to tell me and my sister apart when we were younger because we looked like twins.
  46. I play more indie video games than mainstream ones.
  47. I’m chaotic neutral.
  48. The one song that I will never skip is New Life by Thomas Bergersen.
  49. I’ve never read a Shakespearean work in my life.
  50. The #1 place on my travel list is Japan.
  51. I had a Little Mermaid obsession when I was a kid.

If you’ve made it this far into my post, then thank you for reading! Thank you all again for 100 followers and if you had a go at guessing, leave me a comment to let me know which one you think is the lie. I’ll see you in my next post!

Until next time,
Dev.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. MJ Cobra says:

    Congratulations on 100 followers! That’s so exciting and well-deserved. It’s been great following your blog, and I look forward to your writing future and buying your books. I expect a free signing on every copy I have for the rest of my life. 😉 As for the lie… aaaah, I don’t know. D: Is it that you used to play basketball and soccer? My second guess is that you’ve never read Shakespeare. You have to tell us in your next blog post, or I’ll forever wonder. 🙂

    Like

  2. Congrats on 100 followers, that’s so great! This was SUCH a fun read, I can’t believe you called the Hong Kong police and blamed your brother! I just got back from Japan last month and can 100% confirm that putting it as your #1 place to visit is the correct decision 😉 Also, I love soy milk and tofu, so I can just drink and eat your quota for you? XD And FINALLY, someone else who likes Thomas Bergersen! Most people just look blank and ask ‘who?’ when I mention him! Great post Dev and congrats again!

    Like

Leave a Reply

