2017 Reading Challenge

Last year, I realised that I’ve not been reading as much as I wanted to. And it sucks. I’ve got all these great books on my shelf and in my TBR (and the list keeps on growing because I keep adding to it), but I’m not getting anything out of the way. Everything’s gathering dust by this point.

So I’ve decided to take on a new challenge this year: I’m going to attempt to complete a reading challenge. Specifically, PopSugar’s 2017 Reading Challenge. It’s got forty book diverse prompts plus an additional twelve should I want to challenge myself a bit. It won’t be easy, especially considering deadlines, a job, and other events that have yet to come, but I’m determined to get it done.

dc049a522d84b84f_ps16_jp_living_2017readingchallenge_list_r2

I’ll be mostly focusing on the main portion, but who knows? Maybe I will tackle some on the Advanced list. It looks like it’s got some interesting suggestions. So far, here are the books I’ve decided on:

  1. A book recommended by a librarian: ???
  2. A book that’s been on your TBR list for too long: Lips Touch: Three Times by Laini Taylor
  3. A book of letters: ???
  4. An audiobook: Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman
  5. A book by a person of colour: The Vegetarian by Han Kang
  6. A book with one of the four seasons in the title: Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson
  7. A book that is a story within a story: The Princess Bride by William Goldman
  8. A book with multiple authors: Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman
  9. An espionage thriller: ???
  10. A book with a cat on the cover: Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami
  11. A book by an author who uses a pseudonym: The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (J.K. Rowling)
  12. A bestseller from a genre you don’t usually read: Homegoing by Yaa Gyasi
  13. A book by or about a person who has a disability: Blind by Rachel DeWoskin
  14. A book involving travel: Jalan-Jalan by Mike Stoner
  15. A book with a subtitle: ???
  16. A book that’s published in 2017: Norse Mythology by Neil Gaiman
  17. A book involving a mythical creature: The Hidden Oracle (The Trials of Apollo #1) by Rick Riordan
  18. A book that you’ve read before that never fails to make you smile: The Amazing Book is Not on Fire by Dan Howell and Phil Lester
  19. A book about food: Cinnamon and Gunpowder by Eli Brown
  20. A book with career advice: Adulting: How to Become a Grown-Up in 468 Easy(ish) Steps by Kelly Williams Brown
  21. A book from a non-human perspective: Watership Down by Richard Adams
  22. A steampunk novel: ???
  23. A book with a red spine: The Neverending Story by Michael Ende
  24. A book set in the wilderness: Lord of the Flies by William Golding
  25. A book you loved as a child: Matilda by Roald Dahl
  26. A book by an author from a country you’ve never visited: The Wasp Factory by Iain Banks
  27. A book with a title that’s a character’s name: Mr. Penumbra’s 24-Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan
  28. A novel set during wartime: Wolf By Wolf by Ryan Graudin
  29. A book with an unreliable narrator: In the Woods (Dublin Murder Squad #1) by Tana French
  30. A book with pictures: A Monster Calls: Special Collector’s Edition by Patrick Ness
  31. A book where the main character is a different ethnicity than you: Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  32. A book about an interesting woman: Angel de la Luna and the 5th Glorious Mystery by M. Evelina Galang
  33. A book set in two different time periods: Outlander (Outlander #1) by Diana Gabaldon
  34. A book with a month or day of the week in the title: 11/22/63 by Stephen King
  35. A book set in a hotel: ???
  36. A book written by someone you admire: Hamilton: The Revolution by Lin-Manuel Miranda and Jeremy McCarter
  37. A book that’s becoming a movie in 2017: Wonder by R.J. Palacio
  38. A book set around a holiday other than Christmas: ???
  39. The first book in a series you’ve haven’t read before: The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1) by Maggie Stiefvater
  40. A book you bought on a trip: The Sea is Ours: Tales of Steampunk Southeast Asia by various authors

And now for advanced list:

  1. A book recommended by an author you love: Otherbound by Corinne Duyvis
  2. A bestseller from 2016: A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman
  3. A book with a family member term in the title: My Grandmother Sends Her Regards and Apologises by Fredrik Backman
  4. A book that takes place over a character’s life span: ???
  5. A book about an immigrant or refugee: In Order To Live: A North Korean Girl’s Journey to Freedom by Yeonmi Park
  6. A book from a genre/sub-genre you’ve never heard of: ???
  7. A book with an eccentric character: ???
  8. A book that’s more 800 pages long: ???
  9. A book you got from a used book sale: ???
  10. A book that’s been mentioned in another book: ???
  11. A book about a difficult topic: Bad Boy by Elliot Wake
  12. A book based on mythology: Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley

As you can see, I don’t have all the books to fill out everything on the list, so whilst I will be constantly updating it when I find new books to read or if I’ve completed one or if I change my mind about any of them, if anyone has any recommendations they want to leave in the comments, that would be amazing!

If you’ve made it this far into my post, then thank you for reading! Are you taking on a reading challenge this year? Or are you sticking with just chilling and reading whatever comes your way whenever you feel like? Let me know in the comments and I’ll see you in my next post.

Until next time,
Dev.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. MJ Cobra says:

    Wow, this is inspiring! I didn’t consider taking on a reading list challenge, but I do want to read more (same problem, I don’t read as much as I want to). This is a good idea… I’ll hunt around. Good luck to you! Your brain will be filled with new worlds, ideas, and voices, come 2018. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dev. says:

      Haha thank you! I really hope I can manage this. Pray that I don’t get too lazy and distracted 😅

      Liked by 1 person

  2. ʞɐ says:

    Wow, this is an interesting list and also an interesting challenge.

    Probably, I should take this up as well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dev. says:

      Thank you! Ooh, you should, a challenge every once in a while is always healthy ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ʞɐ says:

        You’re welcome. 🙂
        Yeah, I know I should. And yes, a challenge is always healthy. But I am so weak. 😥

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

