How strange is it to feel everything and nothing at once

I feel like I should say something,
but my tongue is cable tied in the back of my head
like it usually is, but today the bonds are drawn so tight,
it practically draws blood.
Yet I don’t feel a thing.
And I feel like I should

hear things, but
I’m not listening.
I mean no disrespect,
but the constant buzzing of my phone
was enough to break me
out of my sleep and I think nothing of the cars
droning past,
the trickling of the tap, the unrelenting
ticking of my watch by my ear
as I type this,
no music to unnerve me because the only song I want to hear
is the only one that’ll make it seem all too real
—even if it already is.

I feel like I should say something,
but my voice has never been my strongest asset.
So I’ll let the storm die down instead
and I push past the door,
wonder how people are feeling
in this hazy and sunless morning.
I pop my earphones in
and listen to a different song.

Leave a Reply

