Top Ten Tuesday: Horror Books in My TBR

Hello and welcome to Top Ten Tuesday! It’s a bookish meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish in which you’re assigned a weekly prompt and you then compile a top ten (or three or five, it’s really up to you) list based on said prompt. This week’s prompt is a Halloween-related freebie and I’ve decided to go with ‘horror books in my TBR’. That means ghosts and spectres and gore. I also find it appropriate that for my creative writing task for uni this week is to write horror short story, but never mind that. Be ready to be spooped.

Literally anything by Joe Hill

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-23-14-30

I have my friend, Amy, to thank for this. Top three on my list are Horns (the only one I have a copy of), NOS4R2, and The Fireman.

Also anything by Stephen King
679507542072910369
Taken from here

If I’m going to read Joe Hill’s books, I might as well read his dad’s as well. He is the OG horror and supernatural author, after all. Can’t decide which books to go on my top three, so have this montage that I totally didn’t create. Doubt I’ll ever read all of them, though.

Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-23-18-40

Didn’t enjoy Treasure Island that much, though I chalk that up to having to analyse the heck out of it for my English Lit class back in school. I’ve heard great things about Jekyll and Hyde, so I’ll check it out at some point.

The Fall of the House of Usher by Edgar Alan Poe

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-23-20-33

I read bits and pieces of it in the past, but can’t remember how it goes. I remember really liking it, though.

Roald Dahl’s Book of Ghost Stories by Roald Dahl

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-23-22-17

The most recent addition to my horror TBR. I’veloved Roald Dahl’s books since I was a kid and quite enjoyed his more grown up stories as well, so I can’t wait to dive into this one in the future.

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-23-24-12

Anything by Neil Gaiman, I will read. Does this count as horror, though? I’m not sure.

Frankenstein by Mary Shelley

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-23-25-55

She invented science fiction, for crying out loud! What’s not to love?

The Child Thief by Brom

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-23-30-10

I love Peter Pan and I love dark retellings. That is all.

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-23-32-59

This has been on my TBR pile for the longest time. I can’t wait to one day get my hands on it.

Alice by Christina Henry

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-23-34-51

Another recent addition. Not entirely sure how the story plays out, but I’m getting ‘Alice: Madness Returns’ vibes from it so I’m quite excited.

If you’ve made it this far into my post, then thank you for reading! Are any of the books on your TBR list? Or have you already read them? Let me know in the comments below!

Until next time,
The DEVil herself 👹

4 Comments Add yours

  1. mrvolpone says:

    I have Shirley Jackson on my list of horror to read, as her name keeps coming up in top 10 lists.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sadly, I haven’t read ANY of these books, but of course Stephen King is, quite literally, the king of horror, so I’ll have to read something by him sometime!
    -Amy

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dev. says:

      Yeah. It’s a shame tho bc I really want to enjoy horror but I get spooked WAY too easily 😅

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Hahahaha I think all of the horror is so interesting and different!

        Like

Leave a Reply

