Top Ten Tuesday: Favourite Musicians

toptentuesday

Hello and welcome to Top Ten Tuesday! If you don’t know what that is, it’s a bookish meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish in which you’re assigned a weekly prompt and you then compile a top ten (or three or five, it’s really up to you) list based on said prompt. This week’s prompt is anything to do with audio, ranging from audiobooks to podcasts to your favourite musicians. I’m going for the latter since I don’t listen to any of the first two (although I am considering) and I’ll also be including my favourite songs from each artist (some of which I’ve mentioned before) if you wish to check them out. So let’s begin!

Simple Plan
simple_plan_oct_2015
Source

This should come as no surprise to anyone at this point. Those who’ve read my post about when I went and met them would know how much I adore them. I’ve loved their music since I was fourteen. They got me through every laugh, every tear, and pretty much everything on the emotional spectrum. Seriously, though, they have a song for every occasion: for when you’re celebrating life’s little blessings, when you’re feeling particularly rebellious or lonely or lovestruck, to even when you’re grieving. I love them with all my heart.

Favourite songs:
This Song Saved My Life
Gone Too Soon
I Dream About You

Marianas Trench
trench
Source

Another band that I absolutely adore. They’re like Simple Plan, but with slightly better lyrics (no offence, guys). Also Josh Ramsay’s vocal range is to die for.

Favourite songs:
Ever After
Cross My Heart
Fallout

Thomas Bergersen (Two Steps From Hell)
thomas2
Source

Thomas is one half of the duo Two Steps From Hell. The reason I only put his name is because his solo album, Sun, is one of my all-time favourite albums of all time (yes, that deserves to be mentioned twice). But it’s wrong to not give Two Steps a shout out because holy crap their music is amazing. Best of the best when it comes to instrumental, in my opinion. I highly recommend listening to their stuff when you’re writing a particularly action-driven scene.

Favourite songs:
New Life
Ocean Princess
Fearless

Honourable TSFH mentions:
Norwegian Pirate
Flight of the Silverbird
Everlasting

Adrian von Ziegler
s-48e7870fe3177a12d165aad95234deca9efffefa
Source

Like Two Steps From Hell, Adrian deals with instrumental tracks. His work is really versatile, but I love his renditions of Celtic music and what he labels as ‘dark’ and ’emotional’ music. If you’re wanting to get into the right headspace to write something atmospheric or moving, then his music will definitely do the trick.

Favourite songs:
Ode to the Fallen
Blackened Soul
Fare Thee Well

Breaking Benjamin
521506
Source

I feel like I’ve related to every Breaking Benjamin song at different points of my life, which says a lot about me, seeing as their songs are, as described by Wikipedia, ‘angst heavy’.

Favourite songs:
Give Me a Sign (Forever and Ever)
Anthem of the Angels
The Great Divide

Yuki Kajiura
4
Source

Her music includes so much piano, flutes, violins and other stringed instruments—my ultimate weaknesses—and are featured in some of my favourite animes, like Puella Magi Madoka Magica and Pandora Hearts (well, I read the manga but I’ve yet to actually watch it). I love her. Her music gives me life.

Favourite songs:
Beside
Credens Justitiam
Another Episode

The Hamilton cast
The 58th GRAMMY Awards - "Hamilton" GRAMMY Performance
Source

Need I say more?

Favourite songs:
Wait For It (if I could choose a theme song for myself, this would be it)
Satisfied
I can’t decide between Yorktown (The World Turned Upside Down) and Right Hand Man, so have both

Natewantstobattle
maxresdefault
Source

One of my favourite YouTuber musicians. He makes some amazing covers of some of my favourite anime/game/cartoon themes as well as a bunch of awesome original music—also inspired by a bunch of animes, games, and cartoons. If you’re a self-proclaimed geek/nerd/weeb, then do check him out. He deserves to have a million subscribers by now.

Favourite songs:
Shell
Genesis
Hello (Adele cover)

Lindsey Stirling
lindsey-stirling
Source

She is goals. I play the violin, but I’m only okay. In fact, I’m slightly worse than okay, considering that I haven’t played in several years. I probably won’t ever reach Lindsey level of etherealness, but I can dream.

Favourite songs:
Electric Daisy Violin
Phantom of the Opera Medley
Everything from Brave Enough

ThePianoGuys
the-piano-guys-lord-of-the-rings
Source

I have no words for these guys because they’re too good for them. Their covers are amazing. Their music videos are the most beautifully composed I’ve ever watched and are just so aesthetically pleasing. Trust me when I say those two things will bring out your wanderlust in the best possible way.

Favourite songs:
A Thousand Years (Christina Perri cover)
Hello/Lacrimosa
The Jungle Book/Sarabande

If you’ve made it this far into my post, then thank you for reading! Who are your favourite musicians? Leave a comment below to let me know!

Until next time,
Dev.

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I love Simple Plan and Marianas Trench so much!! They’re two of my favourite bands. And Hamilton is amazing ♥

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Dev. says:

      AHHH that’s so cool, I’m glad you love their music too! And yes, Hamilton gives me life, I love it so much 😄

      Like

  2. Girl we like listen to the same music. And I also love the piano guys 😊😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dev. says:

      What, like all of them? Because if so, that would be freaking amazing! 😄😄

      Like

Leave a Reply

