#ReadThemAllThon Wrap Up

readthemallthon

It’s finally here, exactly five days after the actual event has concluded. I apologise for my tardiness as I’ve been quite busy for the past couple of days. I’ve also crossed off one of my top goals in my bucket list over the weekend, so I wanted to get that on my blog first.

Anyway, if you haven’t heard, I joined #ReadThemAllThon this summer. If you don’t know what that is, it’s a Pokémon-inspired reading event hosted by Aentee @ Read At Midnight in which readers get to challenge themselves to read eight books (in correspondence to the number of badges in the Indigo League) in the span of three weeks (14th of August until 4th of September) as well as gain CP in order to evolve your starter. Mine was Bulbasaur—or, as I lovingly referred to it in my sign up post, Bulbaesaur. And, no, I don’t have a trainer card to show for it. I keep seeing it around Twitter and the reading blogosphere and yet I’m sitting here without a clue on how to make one. Smh.

I’ve personally never took part in a reading challenge before because I’m such a slow reader and so I never bothered. Also there weren’t really any incentives that piqued my interest in any of the reading challenges I came across. Until now, that is.

Before I move on to my actual wrap up, I want to share my stats and progress. Here are my list of books and badges:

*Fun fact: 3/4 of the books I chose and read featured a diverse range of diversity and, for some, I didn’t even realise until I read them.

The points I’ve accumulated thus far:


And my tweets about #ReadThemAllThon can be found here.

I have to say, despite only having read 5/8 books on my list, I had so much fun partaking in this challenge. I know that I definitely won’t win the grand prize at the end (though there was a small part of me that hoped I would finish in time and win), but you know what, it doesn’t matter. I was motivated to read multiple books on end. I wrote more reviews than I’ve ever done before (not counting the ones I had to as part of my creative writing course in university because that’s an obligation. I’d fail if I didn’t submit anything). I even made some friends within the book blogging community. Now that was something I did not see coming at all. This may sound really cheesy, but I find it so cool that one event such as this could bring so many of us together like this. And I’m definitely going to finish up reading all the books on the list at some point, so be on the look out for a review of those in the near (or far) future.

The Pokémon aspect of the challenge was the real winner for me because it struck a chord in me that it wasn’t hard for me not to get enthused over it. It’s a childhood classic that not only shaped us as the people we are now but also survived the test of time. I’ve never met anyone who’ve outgrown Pokémon; I know more adults with a massive love for Pokémon GO than I do children. I know lots of people can agree on this.

Another thing I can definitely claim, though, is that I did way better with my Pokémon in this read-a-thon than in the actual Pokémon games. I mean, I evolved my Bulbae all the way to its final form on here. My Bulbaesaurs in any of my Pokémon games (but I’m mostly talking of Pokémon GO here) are still, you know, baebies. To be fair, I don’t play the game as much as I should because it drains so much of my monthly Internet quota.

So that concludes my #ReadThemAllThon experience. If you’ve made it this far into my post, then thank you for reading! How did your three weeks of #ReadThemAllThon go? Did you manage to finish reading everything on your list? If you weren’t a part of it this time around, consider joining in December. I think Aentee might set another one up then.

Until next time,
Dev.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. I saw this readathon and wanted to join, but I’m just never sure how much energy I can expend on readathons. I really enjoyed The Girl with All the Gifts and I hope you did as well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dev. says:

      Aww, that’s okay. I didn’t think I would make it that far with the readathon, but it was fun while it lasted 😂 I did enjoy TGwAtG (catchy acronym there), glad you did too!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

