Upcoming movies I’m excited for

I’m not a movie buff by any means. I don’t watch enough of them as I should in order to consider myself as such, thanks to my horrendous attention span and my inability to sit still. I’m no better when it comes to TV series, either—if anything, I think I’m worse off. But recently, I’ve found myself becoming excited about a number of movies because they look incredibly cool and promising and so I thought I’d share them here with you guys.

Wonder Woman

We can all agree that Wonder Woman is one of the world’s most iconic superheroes to ever grace the comic book scene. So when I heard that they were finally going to make a full-length movie about her, I was ecstatic. From the looks of the trailer, I have no doubt that the action will go down spectacularly. The dialogue seems a bit cheesy (yes, I’m looking at you, Chris Pine), but I won’t jump to conclusions. I’m sceptical of the whole love story they have going on; it seems a bit out of place for me. But we’ll see what happens. All I ask of DC is that they don’t mess this up like they did with Batman vs. Superman (which I haven’t actually watched, but word travels fast) and Suicide Squad.

Moana

I have been unbelievably excited for this movie ever since I’ve heard that it was in production. I never thought in my life that a company as huge as Disney would come up with a story about a Polynesian princess and yet it’s here! I still can’t believe it. It’s awesome that Disney is (finally) starting to diversify their lineup, especially during a time of constant erasure of racial representation in favour of featuring the lighter-skinned folks. I have high hopes for this one. The trailer had me immediately hooked (can we talk about baby Moana for a second??) And not only does it star actual Polynesians (Auli’i Cravalho and Dwayne Johnson as the titular character and demigod Maui respectively), it also has music composed and written by the one and only Lin-Manuel Miranda? Sign me up!

The Girl With All the Gifts

I’m not big on the zombie genre. I like it, but I’m not a huge fan of it. But this one had me changing my mind. I didn’t have a clue what was going on when I first watched this trailer, but it intrigued me enough to read the book and, surprisingly, I loved it. Everything about it, from the plot to the world-building, is kind of out there and it’s extremely action (and science) packed, so I’m curious to see how they’re going to fit that into the movie. If you want to know more about my thoughts on this, my full review of the book is here.

Hidden Figures

Out of all the movies I’ve listed, this one took me by surprise the most—mainly because of the subject matter. I mean this in a good way, of course. Black women working at NASA, who are also responsible for why men are able to land on the moon in the first place, during a time when racial segregation is at its peak is not something that they teach you in history class nor has it ever been mentioned in a history book. At least, not that I’ve heard of. From that information alone, this movie already sounds incredible. I have no doubt that it will go down a success, especially amongst black women and the black community as a whole. They really need this kind of representation in their lives, especially when we consider how they’re treated in most places. So while I am excited to see this in cinemas, I’m mostly excited for the black community .

Beauty and the Beast

Beauty and the Beast has always been one of my favourite Disney movies and I was incredibly stoked when I heard that they were going to make a live-action adaptation of it. I adore Belle, I share her sentiments, and I thought there couldn’t be a better person to step into that role other than Emma Watson. I’m so excited for this!

A Dog’s Purpose

This. This is the movie trailer that inspired me to write this additional post. Just watch that emotional rollercoaster beauty of a trailer. I’m not going to say anything about this one other than this: DOGS!! DOGS DOGS DOGS DOGS! AND I’LL PROBABLY CRY TEARS OF JOY AND SADNESS AT SOME POINT DURING THE MOVIE!

American Gods

Technically this is a TV series, but holy smokes I am mega excited for it! The trailer, combined with that cover of Leadbelly’s ‘Where Did You Sleep Last Night’, gave me chills. It’s so eerie and atmospheric; the cinematography looks amazing. This series, if you didn’t know, is based on Neil Gaiman’s book of the same name. I’ve yet to finish it (and as far as I know, this is one of those books that would require several rereads to fully understand everything), but I could easily recommend it to anyone based on the few chapters I’ve read so far. It’s incredibly intense and gripping, perfect for those who are fascinated by stories inspired by legends and mythologies, who love a good action-packed series, or those who just have time to kill.

If you’ve made it this far into my post, then thank you for reading! Are you excited for any of the movies above? Are there any others you’re looking forward to? If so, feel free to share them below and, who knows, maybe you’ll even convince me to go check them out.

Until next time,
Dev.

7 Comments Add yours

  1. MJ Cobra says:

    I only knew about the first two movies you listed, but the last three (two + one TV series) sound so interesting! My boyfriend has increased my interest in the zombie genre, so The Girl With All the Gifts definitely peaks my interest! I’m glad you exposed me to new films, as it gets hard to keep track of everything!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dev. says:

      Haha thanks, and no problem 😁

      Like

  2. WHAAT, they’re making a TV series of American Gods?!? I DID NOT KNOW THIS. And I am definitely excited. I read the book a while ago and although I’m pretty sure I didn’t at all understand everything, it was an awesome read. 🙂
    And yay to Moana! ACK. *flails* Again, I’m so excited! Yeah, it’s great to see Disney diversifying their movies and also Lin Manuel-Miranda. The music should be fabulous too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dev. says:

      Haha, I’m glad you feel the same 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Kate says:

    I’ll be honest here: I only read this post because I saw Moana and it gives me an excuse to fangirl on it again. (Yes! Let’s talk about baby Moana! I’ve watched that trailer more than ten times and the amount of squealing durinb and after the vid didn’t decrease) Until I saw American Gods.
    Holy cannoli, I know they had a TV series planned for it but I didn’t know it had a trailer already! And Emily Browning is there! I swear, I would’ve squealed in happiness irl but it’s past midnight as I’m writing this and everyone in the block is asleep. 😅 I’ll get back to this post tomorrow for the other movies. And pardon me for this essay comment. I’ll go to sleep now 😅

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dev. says:

      I am so unbelievably excited for Moana and American Gods omg I am screaming 😆 and don’t worry, I love essay comments, gives me a reason to type one myself as a reply, but I do appreciate all kinds of comments. Anything means a lot ☺️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

