50 songs that have inspired my writing

As any artist will know, there’s no telling where inspiration will come from—it comes when it comes and we’re given the choice to either embrace them, reject them, or save them for a rainy day. In my case as a fiction writer, however, because I spend a majority of my time doing my art with my earphones on, a lot of my inspiration comes from the music I listen to. But music doesn’t only help bring out the best of my writing, it also clears my head and is one of the most effective remedies for writer’s block I know. So I’ve come up with a list composed of fifty songs that have positively affected my writing and maybe, hopefully, you’ll be able to take inspiration from it as well.

A Thousand Years – ThePianoGuys
Arrival of the Birds – The Cinematic Orchestra
Back to the Earth  – Two Steps From Hell
Believe – Hollywood Undead
Blackened Soul – Adrian von Ziegler
Bye Bye – Onoken
Colin Frake – Two Steps From Hell
Compass – Two Steps From Hell
Creation of Earth – Thomas Bergersen
Crystalline (feat. Celica Soldream) – Ivan Torrent
Dear You – TelicNotionX
Ever After – Marianas Trench
Fare Thee Well – Adrian von Ziegler
Fearless – Thomas Bergersen
Genesis – Natewantstobattle
Hello/Lacrimosa – ThePianoGuys
I Dream About You (Feat. Juliet Simms) – Simple Plan
Icarus (feat. Julie Elven) – Ivan Torrent
If I’m James Dean, Then You’re Audrey Hepburn – Sleeping With Sirens
Karakuri Pierrot – koma’n
κrOnё – Hiroyuki Sawano
Lacie (Elliot’s Version) – Yuki Kajiura
Let It Burn – Red
Light of Nibel (feat. Aeralie Brighton) – Gareth Coker
Mana (feat. Julie Elven) – Valentin Boomes
Marionette – Antonia
New Life – Thomas Bergersen
Ocean Princess (feat. Merethe Solvedt) – Thomas Bergersen
Ode to the Fallen – Adrian von Ziegler
Parallel Hearts – FictionJunction
Quiet – Lights
Revolve – Yuki Kajiura
Star Sky – Two Steps From Hell
Sun – Thomas Bergersen
Sun & Moon (feat. Carina Istre) – Two Steps From Hell
Suns and Stars – Really Slow Motion
That’s a Wrap – Thomas Bergersen
The Arena – Lindsey Stirling
The Diary of Jane (Acoustic) – Breaking Benjamin
This Song Saved My Life – Simple Plan
To the Moon (Main Theme) – Kan R. Gao
Transformation – The Bulgarian Women’s Choir
Unicorn – Hiroyuki Sawano
Uso to Honto – Yokoyama Masaru
Vanilla Twilight – Owl City
White Tiger – Our Last Night
Will – Yuki Kajiura
Wolf in Sheep’s Clothing (feat. William Beckett) – Set It Off
Younger Dreams – Our Last Night
7 Years – Lukas Graham

Until next time,
Dev.

(Side image taken from Pinterest)

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. MJ Cobra says:

    I LOVE Breaking Benjamin, and Diary of Jane is one of my favorite songs. I’ve never heard the acoustic version, and when it began playing I immediately felt inspired.

    There were several other songs I enjoy and find/have found inspiration from, and many I never heard of and will check out. Thank you for taking the time to share your music with us. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Dev. says:

      Thank you so much for your sweet comment, means a lot to me! I’m really glad that you enjoyed my music 😀 have a great day!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

